Sea of Stars difficulty explained

Discover the different difficulty modes in Sea of Stars and enhance your RPG experience with tailored challenges.

Sea of Stars difficulty explained
Published by Ethan @ PC Game Spotlight 9 months ago

Sea of Stars difficulty settings

Want to know more about Sea of Stars difficulty settings? If you’re a veteran player of retro-style RPGs, you probably don’t need much of an introduction to Sea of Stars. Fans have been eagerly anticipating its release for months, and now that it’s here, we can’t wait to explore the vibrant world of Astara and experience its unique combination of exploration, storytelling, and tactical combat.

While the game is highly anticipated, even veteran RPG players can benefit from understanding the Sea of Stars difficulty options, as they can help tailor your gameplay experience to your skill level. With that in mind, we’ve broken down all of Sea of Stars’ different difficulty modes, as well as how they impact the game.

Sea of Stars difficulty modes

Sea of Stars offers three difficulty modes: Story, Adventure, and Heroic. Each mode affects enemy strength, combat mechanics, and puzzle complexity, so it’s up to you to determine the experience you want to have while playing. Here’s a breakdown of each Sea of Stars difficulty setting.

Story mode

As you might have guessed, Story mode is the easiest difficulty setting. This mode is designed to allow you to focus on the game’s narrative and exploration without worrying about combat too much. If you’re looking for a more casual experience, this is the mode for you.

Adventure mode

Adventure mode is pitched as the most balanced of the Sea of Stars difficulty settings. While combat is still challenging, the game’s developer, Sabotage Studio, notes that Adventure mode is “aimed at experienced players seeking a more intense combat, but without compromising the overall balanced experience”.

Heroic mode

Finally, Heroic mode is for players who are looking for a more challenging experience. As you might expect, this mode is designed to put you under pressure, offering “intense battles and strategic gameplay that will challenge the most experienced players”.

All three of these difficulty modes affect enemy strength, combat mechanics, and puzzle complexity. For example, when playing on Adventure mode, your enemies will have less health, but you will also have the ability to move around and attack enemies during combat turns.

Conversely, in Heroic mode, you’ll have to contend with enemies having more health, as well as your inability to move or attack during combat turns. Similarly, puzzle complexity will be reduced in Story mode but increased in Heroic mode, such that you’ll be able to work out the simplest of puzzles with ease but will be stumped by more complex conundrums.

Be aware that you can switch between difficulty modes at any time during your playthrough, so if you start on Story mode and find the combat too easy, you can ramp up the challenge and find a more satisfying experience.

And that’s everything you need to know about Sea of Stars difficulty settings. With the release date just around the corner, there’s no better time to get stuck into this highly anticipated indie game. And if you’re still on the fence about whether to try it out, perhaps our Sea of Stars preview will persuade you.

Or, if you’re looking for more challenging turn-based games, we’ve got a list of the best roguelike games.

Similar Articles